Swan Lake

I’ll be honest. I’d never been to a ballet before and really other than having typical girl’s dreams of being a ballet dancer as a toddler, I had not given this art much thought until a couple of weeks ago when I got invited to see Swan Lake at The Royal Opera House. My response? I laughed. I was afraid I’d fall asleep and embarrass my companion. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Last Saturday is definitely one to remember!

First of all, Royal Opera House is stunning. The design and magnitude of the hall itself is breath-taking. If you’re there, do pop out on the balcony overseeing the Covent Garden Plazza and offering you a peek into the backrooms too. Quite the views!

The show itself? The music was amazing but that’s Tchaikovsky after all. I can still hear the delicate but repetitive thud, thud, thud of the ballet shoes to the most famous Swan Lake melodies. I was mesmerised by the classical interpretation of the ballet. Needless to say I left the opera house with a head full of dreams of dancing. Too bad I am too old, too heavy and too tone-deaf but that won’t stop me from dancing in my head.

Keep your eyes peeled as Swan Lake will be back for another season soon I am sure! It’s one of those things that must be seen.

4 thoughts on “Swan Lake

    • It is indeed! I was afraid of the experience but it was amazing. Ellie, I am sure you just like me in my head can be brilliant dancer! I just go into my lala land and ta da I get the part of the black swan.

      Now I’m told Tosca is next on my list – that might not go down as well as Swan Lake though. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

